Faculty To Be Inducted into AASWSW, Dean McKay to Join Board of Directors

Faculty; Public Health; Social Work

Three Brown School faculty members will be among the 21 inductees into the American Academy of Social Work and Social Welfare (AASWSW) in January 2019. The honorees join 10 current Brown School faculty members that have already achieved this honor, and many more of our alumni.

Mary McKay, Neidorff Family and Centene Corporation Dean of the Brown School, will join them during the induction ceremony at the SSWR annual meeting in Washington, D.C. She will also assume her new role on the AASWSW board of directors.

“These outstanding scholars embody our mission to impact research and policy while applying a social justice lens locally, nationally and globally.  It’s a privilege for our Brown School community to be represented in AASWSW by so many outstanding thought leaders. I look forward to our collaborations with our fellow scholars across the nation,” said McKay.

The newest Fellows include: 

Professor Francis (Brett) Drake,  a leading researcher on matters of child welfare, with a focus on early intervention cases of child neglect as well as the connections between socio-environmental conditions and child neglect. He is currently the principal investigator on a five-state study for the new NIH-funded Center for Innovation in Child Maltreatment Policy, Research and Training.

Michal Grinstein-Weiss, Shanti K. Khinduka Distinguished Professor and associate dean for policy initiatives, is a pioneer in the field of tax-time savings and asset-building policies, and she spearheaded Israel’s creation of a national child savings account program. She also directs the Envolve Center for Health Behavior Change. 

Fred Ssewamala, William E. Gordon Distinguished Professor, is director of International Center for Child and Health Development (ICHAD), and recently received a $3.4 million grant from NIH to fund an intervention to prevent HIV risk behaviors among adolescent girls in Uganda.

In addition to Dean McKay, current Brown School fellows include:

  • Wendy Auslander, Barbara A. Bailey Professor of Social Work
  • Shenyang Guo, Frank J. Bruno Distinguished Professor of Social Work Research
  • Sean Joe, Benjamin E. Youngdahl Professor of Social Development and Associate Dean for Faculty and Research
  • Melissa Jonson-Reid, Ralph and Muriel Pumphrey Professor of Social Work Research
  • Shanti Khinduka, George Warren Brown Distinguished University Professor Emeritus
  • Nancy Morrow-Howell, Betty Bofinger Brown Distinguished Professor of Social Policy
  • Enola Proctor, Shanti K. Khinduka Distinguished Professor (2014-2018)
  • Mark Rank, Herbert S. Hadley Professor of Social Welfare
  • Michael Sherraden, George Warren Brown Distinguished University Professor