Awards of Distinction Celebrate Brown School Alumni and Friends | Brown School at Washington University in St. Louis
Chancellor Wrighton speaks at the Awards of Distinction
Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Awards of Distinction Celebrate Brown School Alumni and Friends

Alumni; Policy; Public Health; Social Work

The 35th annual Brown School Awards of Distinction were presented April 10, honoring nine awardees for their work to advance the fields of social work, public health and social policy.

In her remarks, Mary M. McKay, Neidorff Family and Centene Corporation Dean of the Brown School, highlighted the connections between the nine honorees' paths:

  • Five of the honorees have used their Brown School degrees to impact governmental and policy change;
  • Four of the honorees represent four consecutive graduation years, 1996 – 1999;
  • Three honorees have supported the education of the next generation of social workers as adjunct instructors, and another served as the founding director of a school of social work; and
  • Two of the honorees — Charita Castro-Gonzalves and Nisha Patel — attended the Brown School with the support of the prestigious Bettie Schroth Johnson Scholarship in Social Service Management.

"But here is the most important common thread," McKay said. "All nine honorees are deeply committed to equity, and I am honored to share their impact with you."

Hear Their Stories

Charita L Castro-Gonzalves
U.S. Department of Labor
Donald M. Loppnow
Eastern Michigan University
Nisha G. Patel
US Partnership on Mobility from Poverty
Okpara Rice
Tanager Place
Daniel Davis
Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
Cora Faith Walker
Missouri House of Representatives
Emily Gallop Coen
Christine Jubel Homan
G.A., Jr. and Kathryn M. Buder Charitable Foundation

Learn more about the Awards of Distinction and past recipients.